Bedside Biometric (fingerprint) safe suggestions

This is the forum to discuss anything related to protecting your firearms, from safes, to personal security.
Java Junkie
Banned
Banned

Bedside Biometric (fingerprint) safe suggestions

Post by Java Junkie »

I am looking into purchasing a Biometric (fingerprint) bedside handgun safe. Do you guys have any recommendations? Are there any that you would stay away from? Thanks for any info you can provide.

AZDESERTRAT
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Re: Bedside Biometric (fingerprint) safe suggestions

Post by AZDESERTRAT »

I have the vaultek slider. Works excellent. Thin enough that I have it bolder to the back fo my nightstand and the kids are nine the wiser. Just program your thumb, index and middle
Finger from each had a few times to make sure you have all possible options. Very happy with mine.
Flash

Post by Flash »

I'm a retired electronic engineer and I would never trust my life or my family's life to an electronic safe.
AZDESERTRAT

Post by AZDESERTRAT »

Agreed. The vaultek has key backup and I keep it very close as well
Dace

Post by Dace »

I would never trust a consumer grade finger print scanner from anyone but Apple level R&D. I my opinion the simplex locks are the best and just as fast as anything electronic. Yet they are mechanical and will never fail. Look into Fort Knox. They are epxensive ($200ish) yet they are made in the USA and insanely heavy duty.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

I’ve had good luck with Barska. I’ve had 2 of them for years with no problems. They have a key backup but I’ve never had to use it.

I get the anti-electronic sentiment and all finger scanners get flaky if you have any grease or dirt on your prints but it’s a compromise for my needs and constraints.
AZ_Five56
ArizonaShooting.org Bronze Supporter
ArizonaShooting.org Bronze Supporter

Post by AZ_Five56 »