Top things I love/hate about desert shooting

If it doesn't fit the topic in any of the other forums, and is firearm-related, put it here!
brian10x
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Top things I love/hate about desert shooting

Post by brian10x »

What I LOVE about shooting in the desert:

>FREEDOM.
I have friends from other states that I communicate with, and when I tell them I drive out into the desert every weekend to go shooting, they are amazed when I tell them its totally legal. I've been shooting in the Arizona desert for 22 years now, and I'm always thankful for the little freedom we still have here.

>Weather.
When its between too hot and too cold, and even sometimes when it is, its just so breathtakingly beautiful out there.

>Suppressors!
It's so awesome to be in the open desert shooting naked. By naked, I mean without hearing protection. I just love sitting on my tailgate with a sound moderated 10/22 plinking away. Such a stress reliever.

>Finding brass.
I reload and I love seeing the glint of brass where the last guy left them. I'm more than happy to reduce pollution by picking up brass and taking it home to my stash.

>Varied targets.
On any given Sunday, I could be shooting paper, metallic targets, or potatoes! I love shooting spuds because they are cheap, explode well, and are biodegradable.

What I dislike about shooting in the desert:

> Getting up early to find a good spot.

>Not getting to my favorite spot early enough!

>Weather.
Sometimes its too damn cold. Sometimes its so hot I burn my hand reaching for a mag.

>Pollution.
Its those inconsiderate morons that shoot up old appliances that are going to get us kicked out of our favorite shooting spots.

>Long range shooting.
Hard to find spots where I can reach out past 50 yards or so. When I do, I'm nervous some yahoo is going to drive between me and my target.

>Cow pies and flies.
Damn flies ain't afraid of gunfire. If there's cows, there's cow sheet. If there's cow sheet, there be flies. Oh well.