Lead Source?

If it doesn't fit the topic in any of the other forums, and is firearm-related, put it here!
vtachrn
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Lead Source?

Post by vtachrn »

I am just getting into casting my own bullets. I have everything I need but a cheap source of lead. I can buy fluxed and cleaned lead ingots off ebay, but its rather cost prohibitive. Anyone here cast their own bullets? Care to educate a guy that wants to learn and pass on the knowledge as well? I just need to figure out where and how to pick up scrap lead without paying a arm and leg.

knockonit

Re: Lead Source?

Post by knockonit »

have a bunch of lead alloyed to 16 brinell , we cast thousand of 9mm, .45 and 223 over the years, have to figure out what i gotta get for it.
in north phoenix, and salvage yards aren't paying .10 lb, check it out.

good luck
rj
XJThrottle
ArizonaShooting.org Bronze Supporter
ArizonaShooting.org Bronze Supporter

Post by XJThrottle »

Buy some wheel weight pliers, a morning, and $2 to get into the U-pull-it. All the wheel weights you can handle/push/carry.
knockonit

Post by knockonit »

just make sure they are lead and not the new zinc crap, adding zinc to the lead makes a real mess to clean up.
don't ask, i just know threw away a whole lotta molten due to contamination to the lead from them. d
Old Jeff H
ArizonaShooting.org Silver Supporter

Post by Old Jeff H »

About 3 years ago I spent a few months putting together a little stockpile. Part of it came from buying medical isotopes from a fellow board member, but the bulk of it came from hitting up all of the local tire shops in my area and buying 5 gallon buckets of used wheel weights.

It took a lot of work to sort the steel and zinc out of the wheel weights, but it was actually kind of enjoyable and relaxing. As was melting it all down, fluxing it, and casting it. After it was all said and done, I ended up with about 2,000 lb of ingots.