Bushmaster xm15 cycling issues

Are you having problems with a rifle or handgun? Having problems with a magazine? This is the place to post for help or to help others. If you fixed that nagging problem with your AR-15, this is the place to post how you did it.
Bladerunner82
New to ArizonaShooting.org

Bushmaster xm15 cycling issues

Post by Bladerunner82 »

Hello everyone, new to the site and figured I would post here since this has been an issue I have been trying to solve for a while now. I have a bushmaster xm15 that has been having double feed and FTE issues. I had a gun smith look at it, he said the BCG looks in great shape along with the springs and has tube. He did machine m4 feed ramps in the rifle which seemed to solve the problem but 100 rounds or so later the issue came back. Just looking for any insight to solving the issue unless swapping the upper is the best bet.

Thank you!

Harrier
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Re: Bushmaster xm15 cycling issues

Post by Harrier »

Are both upper and lower OEM Bushmaster?
Any other mods besides ramps?
Have you tried multiple magazines.

I have a 1999 14.5: A1 bushmaster and don't recall ever having issues with it but I think i did beef up the extractor with a blue insert and O-ring (for more tension).
Bladerunner82

Post by Bladerunner82 »

Both upper and lower are OEM Bushmaster. I have Pmags and cheap steel mags, those are the 2 kinds I have tried. Also want to add that I don’t shoot steel casings, only brass. No other mods other than the feed ramp.
Harrier

Post by Harrier »

So to be clear on the 'double feed' issue, the bolt is pushing 2 cartridges up at the same time, thus jamming when they start to enter the barrel extension ?
or is some other thing?

A couple issues with making new feed ramps... aluminum is soft and after a while wears with the bullet profile... re-anodizing the new cuts helps alleviate this from happening.