HELP Plz... AR15 part needed asap

Are you having problems with a rifle or handgun? Having problems with a magazine? This is the place to post for help or to help others. If you fixed that nagging problem with your AR-15, this is the place to post how you did it.
NEFP
New to ArizonaShooting.org
New to ArizonaShooting.org

HELP Plz... AR15 part needed asap

Post by NEFP »

Yes, I am a moron... Working on my AR15 and launched my buffer detent and spring. Found 50%... Need a spring quickly. Any idea of a shop around Phoenix where I can grab one quick?

YNOTAZ
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Re: HELP Plz... AR15 part needed asap

Post by YNOTAZ »

MLS Arms 2-photos
No reviews · Gun shop
15610 N 35th Ave Suite 6
Phone: (602) 845-0657

Last time I was in there he had a lot of parts. That was a while ago so call first.
dread_scott

Post by dread_scott »

Tombstone tactical carries small parts as well.

Im no expert, but i know some people run their AR's without the buffer detent and spring, because sometimes that little nub breaks off and if it does, it can get wedged into the FCG and cause issues. Those are few and far between, but it has been documented, just some food for thought.
YNOTAZ

Post by YNOTAZ »

Running an AR without a buffer detent is that last thing I would ever do unless it was an emergency.

The only way to damage the tit on the detent is to overtighten the buffer tube when installing it and bending or cracking the tit, or charging the firearm without the barrel installed which will allow the buffer weight to move a bit more forward smacking the detent tit really good, causing metal fatigue or cracks.

I don't know about anyone else but I would be much more worried about forgetting I had no detent, opening the AR, and launching my buffer weight and spring down the firing line, onto a hot range, or getting hit in the nuts with 3-8oz.

Then there's always the laughter and pointing that follows an now pictures on the Internet.
dread_scott

Post by dread_scott »