Cowitness Sight Question

Discuss firearm optics, sights, and scopes here (magnified, red-dot, iron sights, etc).
BigNate
ArizonaShooting.org Member

Cowitness Sight Question

Post by BigNate »

I just bought my first optic ready handgun (Walter PDP) and a Holosun 507C. I’m new to the pistol red dot world and will be learning as I go. The PDP uses “Glock compatible” sights. My understanding is that the factory sights are too short to cowitness through the RDS - so I’ll be replacing them. So - a couple of questions…

1) what is the conventional wisdom regarding night sights vs standard fo co-witness with the RDS.
2) tools for changing the sights - I see a rear sight press and a specialty tool for the front sight. What should I know in this space? I’ve not changed Glock style sights before - I can’t imagine that it’s rocket science - but I can imagine a scenario where it is a huge PITA. Is this DIYable - or will it have me breaking my vow to not swear like a sailor?

QuietM4

Re: Cowitness Sight Question

Post by QuietM4 »

Changing Glock sights is pretty easy....if you have the correct tools. Those tools can be an expensive investment ($150+) for something you will most likely only use once or twice. I'd find a local gun shop (Scottsdale Gun Club, C2 Tactical, etc) that has the sights you want...AKA suppressor height iron sights...and let them swap the sights for you, which they will most likely do for free if you buy the sights from them.

I have seen people absolutely butcher their firearms trying to install sights without the right tools, or simply using a mallet and brass punch (which is a skill itself). Just have an experienced armorer do it for you...no sense in potentially putting a nice "idiot mark" on your new expensive pistol.
kenpoprofessor

Post by kenpoprofessor »